Enquire Now
Admissions virtual tour Cell number of JIRS Whatsapp Location of JIRS
Apply Now

CIE is part of Cambridge Assessment, Europe's largest assessment agency, and a department of the University of Cambridge. Cambridge Assessment was established in 1858 as the University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate (UCLES), and it celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2008. Presently, CIE examinations are conducted in over 160 different countries. Cambridge qualifications are recognized by universities, colleges, and employers across the globe.

Medium of Instruction

Classes Taught
Grades VII - Grade XII for both boys and girls
IGCSE - Lower Secondary Program (LSP) - GRADE 7

The Cambridge Lower Secondary Program is a framework for educational success for students under the age group of 11-14 years. It builds on the primary stage and develops children's knowledge and skills in Mathematics, English, and Science. The Lower Secondary Program has been developed to link seamlessly with the Cambridge International Primary Program and provides standardized tests to allow careful monitoring of progress from primary to lower secondary phases. It also provides excellent preparation for students embarking on IGCSE or O Level courses.

Subjects offered at JIRS - GRADE 7
Group - I Subjects
  • English
  • French / Hindi
  • Mathematics
  • Science (Ext.)
  • Information Technology
  • Environmental Management
  • Art & Design
IGCSE Program (From Grade 8 - 10, and 9 - 10)

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is provided by the University of Cambridge International Examinations (CIE), one of the world's leading providers of examinations. IGCSE is a high profile qualification with an excellent reputation. Recognized by several universities and institutes of higher education around the world, it is equivalent in standard to the British GCSE and International GCSE O Level examinations. IGCSE offers a balanced international curriculum which is designed to encourage high academic standards through a practical approach to teaching and learning and consists of a three-year course of study leading to an examination that is typically taken at the end of Grade 10. Successful students receive an internationally recognized qualification, the IGCSE. Students belonging to any curriculum are eligible to pursue IGCSE after 8th grade only if they qualify certain academic parameters. The student can continue IGCSE from grade 9 onwards and take CIE exams at the end of grade 10.


This course provides broad knowledge and develops creative thinking, application orientation for the concepts learned, and inquiry into every aspect of the learning. IGCSE provides a foundation for higher-level courses, including A and AS Levels and the AICE Diploma. Good IGCSE grades count towards entry to universities and colleges around the world. IGCSE offers students a flexible course of study that gives them the freedom to select the subjects that are right for them. Study and examination at IGCSE provide a broad knowledge base and learning skills that provide excellent preparation for higher studies and employment.

IGCSE curriculum - Subjects

There are five subject groups in IGCSE with several subjects to choose from, in each group:

Group 1: Languages (First Language, Second Language, Foreign Language, etc.) Group 2: Humanities and Social Sciences (Geography, English Literature, History, etc.) Group 3: Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, etc.) Group 4: Mathematics (Mathematics, Additional Mathematics. Group 5: Creative, Technical & Vocational (Accounting, Business Studies, Computer Studies, Music, etc.)
International Certificate of Education (ICE) Award

The ICE is more prestigious than the standard IGCSE. Instead of the five papers needed to obtain the IGCSE, if a student attempts and passes seven or more papers, he / she is awarded the ICE. The seven subjects must be as follows:

Two subjects from the language group
  • One from each of the other four groups
  • One more from any of the five groups
  • At JIRS, the following subjects are offered at the IGCSE level
Elective Subjects
Science Stream
English as First Lang 500 (Group - 1)
English as Second Lang 511 (Group - 1)
French as Foreign Lang 520 (Group - 1)
Hindi as Second Lang 549 (Group - 1)
Mathematics 580 (Group - 4)
Physics 625 (Group - 3)
Chemistry 620 (Group - 3)
Biology 610 (Group - 3)
Environmental Management 680 (Group - 2/3)
Info. and Comm. Tech. 417 (Group - 5)
Art and Design 400 (Group - 5)
Physical Education 413 (Group - 5)
Management Stream
English as First Lang 500 (Group - 1)
English as Second Lang 511 (Group - 1)
French as Foreign Lang 520 (Group - 1)
Hindi as Second Lang 549 (Group - 1)
Mathematics 580 (Group - 4)
Accounting 0452 (Group - 5)
Business Studies 0450 (Group - 5)
Economics 0455 (Group - 2)
Environmental Management 680 (Group - 2/3)
Info. and Comm. Tech. 417 (Group - 5)
Art and Design 400 (Group - 5)
Physical Education 413 (Group - 5)
‘A’ Level - Two Year Program

'A' level is a two-year program after X grade conducted by the University of Cambridge UK and is one of the most recognized qualifications around the world. It is accepted as proof of academic ability for entry into universities, institutes of higher education and military schools, and hones young students to be job-ready. These exams are highly specialized and comprise of only three subjects. International 'A' level is a "gold standard" qualification. It has the same value in admitting students to Universities as the U.K. equivalent and is accepted as an entry-level qualification by Universities worldwide. It offers the flexibility of either going abroad for University-level education or studying further in India. "A" level examination is equivalent to the XII grade examination and is recognized by any board in India and enables the students to appear for any of the competitive examinations.

GCE ‘A’ Level Subjects (XI & XII)
I Science Stream
Subjects Level
9093 - English Lang (G2) AS
9709 - Mathematics (G1) AS/A
9702 - Physics (G1) AS/A
9701 - Chemistry (G1) AS/A
9700 - Biology(G1) AS/A
I Science Stream
Subjects Level
9713 - AICT (G1)* AS
9707 - Business Studies (G3) AS
9704 - Art & Design (G3) AS
9708 - Economics (G3) AS
9706 - Accounting (G3) AS
II Commerce Stream
Subjects Level
9093 - English Lang (G2) AS
9706 - Accounting (G3) AS/A
9707 - Business Studies (G3) AS/A
9708 - Economics (G3) AS/A
9709 - Mathematics (G1) / 9713 - AICT (G1) AS/A
AICE: The subject combination of commerce stream covers all the groups required for AICE award.
Cambridge International Examinations Fee

Children who are appearing for their Grade 10 IGCSE, 11, and 12 GCE ‘AS/ A Level’ Cambridge International Examinations have to pay the Examination fee set by the CIE. Please note: The examination fee is excluded from the regular school fee.

Mr. Kalairajan
Vice Principal
Ms. Vijaylakshmi Bhandi

Site Designed and Maintained By : Office of Communications, JAIN Group All rights reserved.